Gluten is not a protein itself, but rather a composite protein consisting of glutenin and gliadin proteins (wheat), secalin (on rye) and hordein (in barley), which are elastic proteins in the family of proteins known as prolamins. Gluten is insoluble in water and comes from the endosperm (see table below) in the seeds of cereal related to the grass.

The colloquial term “Gluten Free” is not entirely rigorous. If we want to be purists, we may propose substitutes like “Without gliadin, Without secalin Without hordein and avenin”.

In some South American countries have adopted the term “without TACC” (no wheat, no oats, no barley and no rye) while in the English language often uses the acronym “GF” (Gluten Free).

In any case, it seems widespread habit of using the term “Gluten Free” as an abbreviation for “SUITABLE FOR CELIAC DIET” no doubt a more clear and concise definition.

But what if I’m talking about GLUTEN FREE MAKEUP? I stayed astonished in one piece when I saw on the market a gluten-free makeup. I thought “pure fashion” but I am curious, so I began to investigate.

To understand all this makeup without gluten, I found an interview with a make-up household , because logic told me that they had gluten free would be best for me. The truth is that would be made ​​with water stains or water.

Why did we make ALL our products gluten free?
Founder, Kristin Adams’ mother and sister both have celiac disease and must avoid all things containing gluten – including cosmetics and personal care products. She has watched them struggling for years to find truly natural and gluten free cosmetics. When Afterglow Cosmetics was born, naturally, Kristin made sure that none of the ingredients used to formulate her line of cosmetics contained gluten.

Your cosmetics contain Vitamin E. I though that Vitamin E (tocopherol) was primarily sourced from wheat?
Yes, most Vitamin E found in cosmetics is derived from wheat sources. Many manufacturers may not even know what their Vitamin E actually comes from. Afterglow Cosmetics sources only gluten free ingredients and uses Vitamin E (tocopherol) derived from organic cotton seed oil and organic olive oil.

Are your gluten free cosmetics made in a gluten free facility?
Our gluten free cosmetics are made in a facility that makes other non gluten free cosmetics. However, Afterglow is made using sterilized stainless steel equipment and hand filled eliminating cross contamination issues often associated with mechanical filling. We fill our products in a clean room and do not fill when other products are being filled to further eliminate the chance that any cross contamination could occur with other products.

Why would wheat be in my cosmetics anyway?
Gluten derived cosmetic ingredients are common in many cosmetics. Gluten is found primarily in wheat, but also in rye, malt, oats and barley. These gluten cosmetic ingredients are used in cosmetics as binders to help the ingredients stick together and are also used as emollients in the form of gluten derrived oils. Celiac disease and gluten intolerance are primarily an issue related to the auto-immune system of the intestines. However, much of what we put on our skin goes in. For a person suffering with celiac disease and the inability to digest gluten, even minor contact with gluten laced cosmetics could possibly contribute to discomfort. This may be even more true when one takes into consideration that many lipsticks on the market contain gluten as a cosmetic ingredient. This is a sobering thought for a women suffering with gluten intolerance when it is said that the average women eats pounds of lipstick over a lifetime. So, why not make it edible and gluten free at the same time?